Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlists for Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes announced

The shortlists for the Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have been announced.

The shortlisted works and their authors are:

Tasmania Book Prize for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre ($25,000)

  • Losing Streak: How Tasmania was Gamed by the Gambling Industry (James Boyce, Black Inc.)
  • Archipelago of Souls (Gregory Day, Pan Macmillan)
  • Physick (Pete Hay, Shoestring Press)
  • Into the Heart of Tasmania (Rebe Taylor, MUP)

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

  • The White Room Poems (Anne Kellas, Walleah Press)
  • South Pole: Nature and Culture (Elizabeth Leane, Reaktion Books)
  • The Museum of Modern Love (Heather Rose, A&U)

University of Tasmania Prize for an unpublished manuscript by an emerging writer ($5000) 

  • ‘A Son of the Moon’, by Kerri Guardia
  • ‘Two Sets of Books’, by Ruairi Murphy
  • ‘Brodsky Dies’, by Adam Ouston
  • ‘A Guide to Bushwalking in Tasmania’, by Ben Walter

The Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship ($5000) 

  • Erin Hortle
  • Sarah Jaeger
  • Emily Spratt

The shortlists were announced at an event at the Theatre Royal in Hobart on 14 September, as part of the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival. As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the longlists for the Tasmania Book Prize and the Margaret Scott Prize were announced in August.

Voting for the People’s Choice Awards is also now open.

The winners of all the prizes will be announced at an event at Government House on 27 November. The biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes, previously known as the Tasmanian Literary Prizes, were rebranded in 2017.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news