Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Zable awarded 2017 Australia Council Fellowship

Writer Arnold Zable has been awarded the 2017 Australia Council Fellowship for literature, worth $80,000.

Zable is the author of several memoirs, short story collections and novels, including Jewels and Ashes (Scribe), Café Scheherazade, The Fig Tree, Sea of Many Returns, Violin Lessons and The Fighter (all Text).

Eight fellowships were awarded to practitioners in the fields of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts, dance, community arts, visual arts, theatre, emerging and experimental, literature and music.

Australia Council Fellowships are awarded to support ‘outstanding, established artists’ creative activity and professional development for a period of up to two years’ .

For more information, click here.

Photo credit: Sabina Hopfer


Category: Awards Local news