Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize 2017 shortlist announced

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival have announced the shortlist for the 2017 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • Michelle Barraclough for ‘As I Am’
  • Sam Coley for ‘State Highway One’
  • Miranda Debeljakovic for ‘Waiting for the Sun’
  • Julie Keys for ‘Triptych’
  • Karen Wyld for ‘Where the Fruit Falls’.

Now in its third year, the Richell Prize was created in memory of former Hachette CEO Matt Richell, who died in 2014.

The judges are author and Richell’s widow Hannah Richell; Emerging Writers’ Festival director Izzy Roberts-Orr; bookseller Amelia Lush; and Hachette publisher Robert Watkins.

The shortlist was chosen from a longlist announced in August. Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of a proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction.

The winner will be announced in Sydney on 1 November and will receive $10,000 and mentoring from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work to publication.

For more information, click here.


Category: Awards Local news