Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2017 National Book Award shortlists announced

In the US, the finalists for the 2017 National Book Awards have been announced in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people’s literature, reports Publishers Weekly.

The shortlisted titles are:


  • Dark at the Crossing (Elliot Ackerman, Daunt Books)
  • The Leavers (Lisa Ko, Algonquin US)
  • Pachinko (Min Jin Lee, Head of Zeus)
  • Her Body and Other Parties: Stories (Carmen Maria Machado, Serpent’s Tail)
  • Sing, Unburied, Sing (Jesmyn Ward, Bloomsbury)


  • Never Caught: The Washingtons’ Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge (Erica Armstrong Dunbar, S&S US)
  • The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America (Frances FitzGerald, S&S US)
  • The Future is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia (Masha Gessen, Granta)
  • Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI (David Grann, S&S)
  • Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America (Nancy MacLean, Scribe)


  • Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 (Frank Bidart, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • The Book of Endings (Leslie Harrison, University of Akron Press)
  • WHEREAS (Layli Long Soldier, Graywolf)
  • In the Language of My Captor (Shane McCrae, Wesleyan University Press)
  • Don’t Call Us Dead: Poems (Danez Smith, Chatto & Windus)

Young People’s Literature

  • What Girls Are Made Of (Elana K Arnold, Lerner)
  • Far from the Tree (Robin Benway, S&S)
  • I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter (Erika L. Sánchez, Knopf US)
  • Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (Rita Williams-Garcia, HarperCollins)
  • American Street (Ibi Zoboi, HarperCollins)

The National Book Awards are administered by the US National Book Foundation. Shortlisted titles were chosen from longlists announced in September, with winners to be announced on 15 November.

Two lifetime achievement awards will also be awarded: Annie Proulx will receive the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters and Scholastic US chairman Dick Robinson will receive the Foundation’s Literarian Award for Outstanding Contribution


Category: International news