Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australians nominated for 2018 Astrid Lindgren Award

Nine Australian authors and illustrators and one Australian organisation have been nominated for the 2018 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

The Australian nominees are:

  • Randa Abdel-Fattah
  • Ursula Dubosarsky
  • Mem Fox
  • Morris Gleitzman
  • Gus Gordon
  • Robert Ingpen
  • Margo Lanagan
  • Kirsty Murray
  • Margaret Wild
  • Indigenous Literacy Foundation.

In total, 235 candidates from 60 countries were nominated for the award. No New Zealand authors or illustrators were nominated.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the richest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and carries a cash prize of five million krona (A$785,929).

The winner of the 2018 award will be announced in Stockholm and Bologna following the jury’s final meeting on 27 March 2018.

Two Australian authors have previously won the Astrid Lindgren Award: author and illustrator Shaun Tan in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett in 2008.

A complete list of nominees is available online here.


Category: Junior Local news