Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

YABBAs 2017 winners announced

The winners of the 2017 Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced.

The winning titles are:

Picture storybooks

  • Do Not Open This Book (Andy Lee, illus by Heath McKenzie, Lake Press)

Fiction for younger readers

  • WeirDo: Mega Weird! (Anh Do, illus by Jules Faber, Scholastic)

Fiction for older readers

  • The 78-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)

Fiction for years 7-9

  • Risk (Fleur Ferris, Random House).

Author Hazel Edwards was named the 2017 Graham Davey Citation honour recipient, which is presented each year to a book or person that ‘has made an impact on Australian children’s literature’.

The awards were presented at Hampton Park Secondary College in Melbourne on 31 October.

The winners were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist, which also acts as a shortlist for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), New South Wales (KOALAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

For more information about the YABBAs, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Junior Local news