Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

UNESCO announces nine new Cities of Literature

UNESCO has designated nine new Cities of Literature.

They are:

  • Bucheon (Republic of Korea)
  • Durban (South Africa)
  • Lillehammer (Norway)
  • Manchester (UK)
  • Milan (Italy)
  • Québec City (Canada)
  • Seattle (United States of America)
  • Utrecht (Netherlands)

In total, 64 cities from 44 countries were newly designated as UNESCO Creative Cities in the fields of Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music.

The latest round of announcements also saw the Australian city of Greater Geelong named a UNESCO City of Design.

Launched in 2004, the UNESCO Creative Cities Network aims to ‘develop and exchange innovative best practices to promote creative industries, strengthen participation in cultural life, and integrate culture into sustainable urban development policies’.


Category: International news