Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PMLA judging panels overhauled

The judging panels for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards (PMLAs) have been announced, revealing an overhaul to the 2016 panels.

The judging panels include:

Nonfiction and history

  • Lynette Russell, academic and president of the Australian Historical Association
  • Helen Trinca, managing editor of the Australian and nonfiction author
  • Richard Waterhouse, history professor emeritus at the University of Sydney
  • Greg Melleuish, professor of politics and history at the University of Wollongong
  • Sally Warhaft, broadcaster and author

Fiction and poetry

  • Bronwyn Lea, poet and associate professor of contemporary literature at the University of Queensland
  • Kathy Shand, editor and publisher
  • James Ley, literary critic
  • Susan Wyndham, writer and former literary editor of the Sydney Morning Herald
  • Sarah Holland-Batt, poet

Children’s and YA

  • Margot Hillel, children’s literature researcher
  • Joy Lawn, YA reviewer and columnist for the Weekend Australia
  • Margrete Lamond, children’s book publisher and author
  • Robyn Ewing, professor of teacher education and the arts at the University of Sydney
  • Sue Whiting, children’s book editor and author

No members of the 2016 judging panels have returned this year, and the panels have been expanded from four to five judges. To see the judges from previous years, click here.

The judging panels are responsible for making recommendations to the Prime Minister for the shortlists and winners across each of the six categories, however, ‘the Prime Minister makes the final decision’.


Category: Local news