Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian, NZ authors on 2018 International Dublin longlist

Ten books by Australian authors and three by New Zealand authors have been nominated for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award.

Longlisted books by Australian authors are:

  • The Last Painting of Sara de Vos (Dominic Smith, A&U)
  • The Sound (Sarah Drummond, Fremantle Press)
  • The Dry (Jane Harper, Pan)
  • Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms (Anita Heiss, S&S)
  • One (Patrick Holland, Transit Lounge)
  • Our Tiny, Useless Hearts (Toni Jordan, Text)
  • The Good People (Hannah Kent, Picador)
  • An Isolated Incident (Emily Maguire, Picador)
  • The Museum of Modern Love (Heather Rose, A&U)
  • Vigil (Angela Slatter, Jo Fletcher Books).

Longlisted books by New Zealand authors are:

  • The Wish Child (Catherine Chidgey, Victoria University Press)
  • All Day at the Movies (Fiona Kidman, Random House NZ)
  • Billy Bird (Emma Neale, Random House NZ).

In total, 150 books were nominated for the longlist by libraries from across the world. The longlist includes authors from 40 countries, and 48 translated titles. The book that received the most nominations was Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad (Orbit).

The shortlist will be announced in April 2018 and the winner on 13 June.

The International Dublin Literary Award, worth €100,000 (A$151,537), is the most valuable prize for a novel published in English.

For more information about the award, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news