Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Overland’ Fair Australia Prize 2017 winners announced

Literary journal Overland has announced the winners for this year’s Fair Australia Prize.

The winners are:


  • Andrew Sutherland for ‘East Perth [imagined nation]’, a ‘response to citizenship, love, distance and intercultural yearning’.


  • Bryant Apolonio for ‘Collision’, about a young man whose work is interrupted by ‘a marching crowd who’ve had enough’.


  • Nicky Minus for ‘The New (Not) Normal’, which ‘looks at the precarious nature of work today’.


  • Julian Bull for ‘Aussie Albert’, a profile of Albert Namatjira and ‘a window into the injustices befalling Indigenous Australians’.

Best member entry:

  • Michael Dulaney for ‘Beyond the Bridge to Nowhere’, which skewers PR exercises and empowerment language.

The winning entries were chosen from shortlists announced earlier this month, and will be published in the final edition of Overland for 2017, which will be launched on 11 December. The winners also receive a $4000 cash prize.

The Fair Australia Prize asks writers and artists to engage with the topics ‘what does a fair Australia look like, and how do we get there?’ and ‘imagine a new political agenda for Australia’. It is funded by the National Union of Workers; the Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance; and the National Tertiary Education Union in Victoria.


Category: Local news