Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners announced for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017

The winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Their Brilliant Careers (Ryan O’Neill, Black Inc.)


  • Headwaters (Anthony Lawrence, Pitt Street Poetry)

Australian history

  • Atomic Thunder: The Maralinga Story (Elizabeth Tynan, NewSouth)


  • Quicksilver (Nicolas Rothwell, Text)

Children’s fiction (joint winners)

  • Home in the Rain (Bob Graham, Walker Books)
  • Dragonfly Song (Wendy Orr, A&U)

Young adult fiction

  • Words in Deep Blue (Cath Crowley, Pan Macmillan).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced last month. The winners in each category receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free.

The winners were announced at a ceremony on 1 December in Canberra. For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Awards Local news Special Bulletin news