Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners of Emerging Writers’ Mentorships 2018 announced

The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Emerging Writers’ Mentorship program.

The winners are:

Adult fiction:

  • Amanda Niehaus for ‘The Breeding Season’
  • H T Thomas for ‘The Passionflower’
  • Melissa Manning for ‘South West’
  • Katie Lavers for ‘The Watersinger’


  • Anne So for ‘Second Chance Luck’


  • James Gering for his untitled collection

YA fiction

  • Geraldine Borella for ‘Bertie and the Black Hand’
  • Amelia Mellor for ‘The Celestial Kris’
  • Catherine Gillard for ‘Two Juliettes (Girls Can Kick Too)’


  • Julianne Negri for ‘Hattie Maxwell and the Library of Lost Words’
  • Catherine Mojsiewicz for ‘Forest of Bones, Steppe of Ashes’

 Edel Wignell Mentorship

  •  Christopher Edwardes for ‘The Grimoire’

Assessors Danielle Binks, Nick Earls, Robyn Sheahan-Bright, Julia Stiles and Jen Webb also highly commended Anne Myers, Natalie Sprite, Heather Kaye and Gemma Betros in the adult fiction and nonfiction categories, and Holden Sheppard in the YA category.

ASA CEO Juliet Rogers said, ‘the program has had multiple success stories over the years and we are grateful to our very skilled assessors for all their hard work and delighted by the quality of the submissions from our writers and poets’.

Winners receive a 25-hour mentorship during 2018 to develop their manuscript to a publishable standard. Highly commended applicants will receive a two-hour phone consultation with a mentor.

The 2018 program consists of 11 mentorships funded by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, plus the Edel Wignell Mentorship for children’s writers, funded by the income of children’s author Edel Wignell.

For more information on the awards, click here.


Category: Local news