Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Judges for inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize announced

The New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaitahu O Aotearoa and Text Publishing (Text) have announced the judges for the inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize for an unpublished novel.

New Zealand authors Lloyd Jones and Patricia Grace and a representative from Text will judge the prize.

Announced in July, the award honours New Zealand agent and writer Michael Gifkins with his partner Ann Hatherly and son André Gifkins making a financial commitment to the award. The prize is open to writers holding New Zealand citizenship or who are permanent residents of New Zealand and comes with a $10,000 advance and a world-rights contract with Text.

A shortlist will be announced in March, with the winner to be announced at the Auckland Writers Festival in May.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news