Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Griffiths wins 2017 ACT Book of the Year

Tom Griffiths has won the 2017 ACT Book of the Year for his nonfiction book The Art of Time Travel (Black Inc.).

Griffiths was chosen from a shortlist of five, and his book was praised by the judges as ‘a celebration of history and historians [that] moves easily from the broad perspective—what history is and what it does—to a detailed account of the work of fourteen authors’. He will receive a $10,000 cash prize.

The other three shortlisted authors, Laura Dawes, Russell Erwin, Jack heath and Jennifer Rayner receive $1000 each.

The ACT Book of the Year Award recognises literary works across fiction, nonfiction and poetry by ACT authors and ‘aims to support the development of ACT writers and promote writing in the ACT’.

For more information about the award, visit the ACT government website here.


Category: Awards Local news