Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature shortlists announced

The shortlists have been announced for this year’s Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, presented biennially by the South Australian government.

The shortlisted works in each category are:


  • Rockhopping (Trace Balla, A&U)
  • Dragonfly Song (Wendy Orr, A&U)
  • The Fall (Tristan Bancks, Random House)
  • How to Bee (Bren MacDibble, A&U)
  • Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press)
  • The Other Christy (Oliver Phommavanh, Penguin)

Young Adult

  • Ballad for a Mad Girl (Vikki Wakefield, Text)
  • First Person Shooter (Cameron Raynes, MidnightSun)
  • My Sister Rosa (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)
  • Illuminae (Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • One Thousand Hills (James Roy and Noel Zihabamwe, Scholastic)
  • The Boundless Sublime (Lili Wilkinson, A&U)


  • Ghost River (Tony Birch, UQP)
  • The Last Garden (Eva Hornung, Text)
  • The World Without Us (Mirelle Juchau, Bloomsbury)
  • Some Tests (Wayne Macauley, Text)
  • From the Wreck (Jane Rawson, Transit Lounge)
  • A Loving Faithful Animal (Josephine Rowe, UQP)


  • Ghostspeaking (Peter Boyle, Vagabond)
  • Missing Up (Pam Brown, Vagabond)
  • Year of the Wasp (Joel Deane, Hunter Publishers)
  • Inside My Mother (Ali Cobby Eckermann, Giramondo)
  • Fragments (Antigone Kefala, Giramondo)
  • Redactor (Eddie Paterson, Whitmore Press)


  • Quiet City: Walking in West Terrace Cemetery (Carol Lefevre, Wakefield Press)
  • Position Doubtful (Kim Mahood, Scribe)
  • Our Man Elsewhere (Thornton McCamish, Black Inc.)
  • The Boy behind the Curtain (Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Understory (Inga Simpson, Hachette)
  • Eat First, Talk Later (Beth Yahp, Random House)

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • ‘Prodigal Jones’ by Duncan Graham
  • ‘19 Weeks’ by Emily Steel
  • ‘Strata’ by Peter Beaglehole

The winner of each category will receive $15,000.

South Australian authors Poppy Nwosu and Annette Marner were shortlisted for the Arts South Australia Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award. The winner will receive $10,000 and have their manuscript published by Wakefield Press.

The winners of the Barbara Hanrahan, Max Fatchen and Tangkanungku Pintyanthi fellowships, worth $15,000 each, will be announced alongside the category winners at a ceremony at Adelaide Writers’ Week on 3 March.

For more information, click here.



Category: Awards Junior Local news