Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hazel Rowley Fellowship 2018 shortlist announced

Writers Victoria has announced the eight writers shortlisted for the 2018 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, awarded annually to an Australian writer for a proposed biographical work.

The shortlisted writers and their projects are:

  • Judith White for her proposal ‘Colin Lanceley: The Artist’s World’
  • Jacqueline Kent for a biography on Vida Goldstein
  • Clem Gorman for an authorised biography of Australian artist David Rankin
  • Drusilla Modjeska for a second volume of memoir, First Half Second: Volume 2
  • Jillian Graham for her writing about Australian composer Margaret Sutherland
  • Andrew Ramsey for a biography of Mark Oliphant and Ernest Rutherford
  • Diana James for her proposal ‘Open Hearted Country: Nganyinytja’s Story’
  • Catherine Bishop for her proposal ‘Annie Lock: A Challenging Woman’.

The $15,000 fellowship will be judged by biographers Jenny Hocking and Arnold Zable, Rowley’s friend and co-initiator of the fellowship Lynn Buchanan, and Rowley’s sister Della. The winner will be announced at the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne on 8 March, following the Hazel Rowley Memorial lecture to be given Hocking.

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was established in 2011 by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund with the support of Writers Victoria to encourage Australian authors to attain a high standard of biography writing and to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Rowley, who died in 2011.

Ann-Marie Priest won the 2017 fellowship for her biography of Australian poet Gwen Harwood.

For more information about the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, visit the Writers Victoria website here.


Category: Local news