Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Nevermoor’ makes shortlist for Waterstones children’s prize

Jessica Townsend’s middle-grade novel Nevermoor (Lothian) has been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in the younger readers category.

Australian-born US-based author Emily Suvada is also shortlisted in the older fiction category for her YA novel This Mortal Coil (Penguin).

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is an annual award to ‘showcase of the very best emerging talent in children’s publishing today’, and the shortlists are chosen by Waterstones booksellers.

The winners of each category, as well as the overall winner, will be announced on 22 March, with the category winners receiving £2000 (A$3550) and the overall winner receiving an extra £3000 (A$5326) in prize money.

Last year’s award winner—Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Girl of Ink and Stars (Chicken House)—increased sales by 1400% across the Waterstones network, according to a statement from the retailer.

See the full shortlists here.


Category: Junior Local news