Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stella Prize 2018 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2018 Stella Prize has been announced.

This year’s longlisted titles are:

For the first time in the prize’s history, longlisted authors will each receive $1000 in prize money, thanks to funding from the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.

The shortlist will be announced on 8 March and the winner at a ceremony in Sydney on 12 April.

The longlist comprises seven works of fiction and five of nonfiction. Eight of the titles are published by small presses.

Chair of judges Fiona Stager said the longlist ‘challenges the reader to experience the pleasures of reading different forms of writing: speculative fiction, novella, memoir, biography, non-narrative nonfiction, history, short stories and work in translation’. ‘Included on the longlist are authors who have inverted genres through imaginative and subversive literary techniques,’ said Stager.

This year’s prize is judged by co-owner of Avid Reader Fiona Stager; author Julie Koh; editor, writer and poet Ellen van Neerven; writer and critic James Ley; and writer, editor and publisher Louise Swinn.

The Stella Prize is presented for the best work of fiction or nonfiction by an Australian woman published in the previous calendar year.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Heather Rose won the 2017 Stella Prize for her novel The Museum of Modern Love (A&U).



Category: Awards Local news