Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Asialink 2018 arts exchanges announced

The recipients of the University of Melbourne’s Asialink Arts Exchanges Program (previously known as the Residencies Program) for 2018 have been announced.

Writers receiving residencies in Asian countries are:

  • Annee Lawrence, Indonesia
  • Suneeta Peres da Costa, India
  • Mirandi Riwoe, Shanghai
  • Kate Larsen, Hong Kong
  • Miles Allinson, India
  • Josephine Wilson, China
  • Sally Murphy, Vietnam
  • Dias Novita Wuri, Sydney.

Sydney-based writer Annee Lawrence was the inaugural recipient of the Tulis writing exchange with Indonesia. Lawrence will travel to Jakarta to work on her novel and participate in the Ubud Reader and Writers Festival, while Indonesian writer Dias Novita Wuri will take up residency at Varuna National Writers House and WestWords, and participate in the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

The Asialink Arts Exchanges Program offers successful applicants ‘the opportunity to tell their stories, strengthen their practice and Australia’s creative reputation whilst on exchange in Asia’. Recipients will also be able to develop new works and long-term cultural goals.

A total of 32 individual artists were awarded residencies, and each is offered a grant of between $6000 and $12,000, sourced through partnerships with Australian arts funding bodies, agencies of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and philanthropic benefactors.

The full list of successful applicants is available here.


Category: Local news