Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature 2018 winners announced; Winton donates prize money to Ningaloo Reef protection

The winners of the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature were announced at a ceremony on 3 March as part of Adelaide Writers’ Week.

The winners in each category are:

Premier’s Award ($25,000)

  • The Last Garden (Eva Hornung, Text)

Fiction ($15,000)

  • The Last Garden (Eva Hornung, Text)

Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • The Boy Behind the Curtain (Tim Winton, Penguin)

Young adult fiction ($15,000)

  • My Sister Rosa (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)

Children’s literature ($15,000)

  • Dragonfly Song (Wendy Orr, A&U)

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • Missing Up (Pam Brown, Vagabond Press)

Arts South Australia Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • ‘A New Name for the Colour Blue’ (Annette Marner)

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • ‘19 Weeks’ (Emily Steel)

Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship ($15,000)

  • ‘Time to be a poet again’ (Jude Aquilina)

Max Fatchen Fellowship ($15,000)

  • ‘Tellurian Blue’ (Danielle Clode)

Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship ($15,000)

  • ‘Finding Billy Brown’ (Eduardo Crismani)

Hornung is the first South Australian to win the Premier’s Award in its 32-year history, as well as being the first South Australian to win in the fiction category. She was chosen from shortlists announced in January.

Tim Winton, after accepting his award, announced that he would donate the $15,000 prize money to the campaign to save Ningaloo Reef, in his home state of Western Australia. ‘We worked so hard for all those years and got it on the World Heritage List, and thought it was safe,’ said Winton. ‘The northwest coast is ringed by fossil fuel tenements, and now there’s an attempt to bring that onshore at Exmouth.’

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented biennially by the South Australian Government. Books by Australian authors that were published between 27 June 2015 and 26 June 2017 were eligible for the 2018 awards. For more information, visit the awards website here.


Category: Awards Festivals Local news