Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Schmidt wins inaugural MUD Literary Prize for debut fiction

Sarah Schmidt’s See What I Have Done (Hachette) has won the inaugural MUD Literary Prize, awarded to a debut novelist.

As part of the prize, Schmidt received a cash prize of $3000, as well as participation in an event at Adelaide Writers’ Week (AWW).

Claire G Coleman and Rachel Leary were recognised as finalists for their respective novels, Terra Nullius (Hachette) and Bridget Crack (A&U).

The prize for literary fiction was awarded during an event at AWW on 5 March.

The MUD Literary Prize is organised by the MUD Literary Club, a not-for-profit association that supports the annual Ubud Writers and Readers Festival and AWW. The inaugural judges were Andrew Saies, author Favel Parrett and AWW festival director Laura Kroetsch.

For more information about the award, click here.


Category: Local news