Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist announced for inaugural Perimeter Small Book Prize

The shortlist for the inaugural Perimeter Small Book Prize has been announced.

The shortlisted entrants are:

  • Michael Garbutt
  • Luke Van Aurich
  • Saskia Pandji Sakti
  • Jacob Raupach
  • Kathryn McCool
  • Ross Taylor
  • Kate Tucker
  • Claudia Van Eeden
  • Abigail Varney
  • Sarah Walker

The winner will work alongside Perimeter’s editors and designers to develop a small, limited-edition book, which will be published by Perimeter Editions.

Established by Melbourne-based specialist bookstore and publishing platform Perimeter Books, the new prize aims to demonstrate Perimeter’s ‘commitment to engaging with the local creative community and developing and disseminating meaningful new works in published form’.

Entrants are asked to submit a body of work that includes 12-24 images as a sample of a wider project, as well as a 200-word project statement and a short biography. The winning book will be distributed through Perimeter’s channels in Australia, New Zealand, North America and Europe, and promoted at major art book fairs in New York, Los Angeles, London, Tokyo and Melbourne.

The winning entry will be chosen ‘based on merit and originality’ by the Perimeter team, including directors Justine Ellis and Dan Rule, and staff members Emma Phillips, Lizzie Stafford and Felix Wilson.

The winner will be announced on 12 April. For more information on the prize, see the Perimeter website.


Category: Local news News