Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Red Room Poetry fellowship 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlist has been announced for the 2018 Red Room Poetry fellowship, which recognises the achievements and artistic goals of contemporary Australian poets.

The 11 shortlisted poets are:

  • Zenobia Frost
  • Omar Sakr
  • Jill Jones
  • L K Holt
  • Michael Farrell
  • Jeanine Leane
  • Graeme Miles
  • Emilie Zoey Baker
  • Candy Royalle
  • Maria Takolander
  • Scott-Patrick Mitchell

The fellowship selection panel said of the shortlist: ‘The diversity of form shown in this shortlist is a great representation of Australian poetry and what the Red Room fellowship is doing to support poets across styles, cultures and career stages. Some of Australia’s most experimental, engaging and hardworking poets are listed here and each of them is defining poetry on their own terms.’

The winning fellow will be announced on 5 April and will receive a $5000 stipend, a $1000 commission to create a number of poems inspired by an existing Red Room project, a two-week residency at Bundanon Trust, and opportunities to present up to three paid poetry workshops and a public address. The commissioned poems will be published and ‘highly visible’ on public transport.

Red Room Poetry established the fellowship in 2017 to ‘foster poetic and professional development of an individual within the wider poetic community’ and to encourage poets to ‘undertake an intensive period of creative development’.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, the inaugural Red Room Poetry fellowship was won by Ali Cobby Eckermann in 2017.

For more information about the fellowship, visit the Red Room Poetry website.


Category: Local news