Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Awards 2017 winners announced

The winners of the 2017 Aurealis Awards for the best Australian science-fiction, fantasy and horror writing published in 2017 have been announced.

The winning titles were:

Best science-fiction novel

Best fantasy novel

  • Godsgrave (Jay Kristoff, HarperCollins)

Best horror novel

  • Soon (Lois Murphy, Transit Lounge)

Best children’s fiction

Best young adult novel

Best graphic novel / illustrated work

  • Changing Ways book 3 (Justin Randall, Gestalt)

Best collection

  • The Silver Well (Kate Forsyth & Kim Wilkins, Ticonderoga Publications)

Best anthology

  • Infinity Wars (ed by Jonathan Strahan, Rebellion/Solaris)

The Convenors’ Award for Excellence

  • The Fictional Mother (Tansy Rayner Roberts, self-published)

Best science-fiction short story

  • ‘Conversations with an Armoury’ (Garth Nix, Infinity Wars, Solaris)

Best science-fiction novella

  • Girl Reporter (Tansy Rayner Roberts, Book Smugglers)

Best fantasy short story

  • ‘The Curse is Come Upon Me, Cried’ (Tansy Rayner Roberts, Please Look After This Angel & Other Winged Stories, self-published)

Best fantasy novella

  • In Shadows We Fall (Devin Madson, self-published)

Best horror short story

  • ‘Old Growth’ (J Ashley Smith, SQ Mag 31, IFWG Publishing Australia)

Best horror novella

  • ‘The Stairwell’ (Chris Mason, Below The Stairs: Tales from the Cellar, Things in the Well)

Best young adult short story

  • Girl Reporter (Tansy Rayner Roberts, Book Smugglers)

The winners were announced on 31 March at the Swancon convention in Perth. The full list of 2017 finalists is available here.

For more information about this year’s winners, go to the Aurealis Awards website.


Category: Awards Local news