Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Silber wins 2018 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

In the US, Joan Silber has won the 2018 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for her novel Improvement (Counterpoint), reports the Washington Post.

Silber’s novel was selected from a shortlist of five for the US$15,000 (A$19,430) prize, which recognises the best work of fiction by an American author in the preceding year.

The judges said of Improvement: ‘The art of this exquisite novel rests in Silber’s ability to weave the lives of her characters together into a complete whole, providing readers with intimate glimpses into the delicate and often unseen challenges of unassuming, everyday people’.

The shortlisted authors—Hernán Díaz, Samantha Hunt, Achy Obejas and Jesmyn Ward—will receive $5000 (A$6480) each, and will also read from their work at the award ceremony in Washington on 5 May.

Last year’s PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction was won by Imbolo Mbue for Behold the Dreamers (4th Estate).

To learn more about the award, see the website.


Category: International news