Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist for the 2017 Nakata Brophy Prize announced

Overland journal has announced the shortlist for the fifth Nakata Brophy Short Fiction and Poetry Prize for Young Indigenous Writers.

The shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • Jazz Money, for ‘as we attack’
  • Kirli Saunders, for ‘A dance of hands’
  • Laniyuk Garcon, for ‘Remember’
  • Ralee Lancaster, for ‘haunted house’
  • Susie Anderson, for ‘revolve’.

The winner will receive $5000, publication in Overland’s print magazine and a three-month residency at Trinity College. The Nakata Brophy Prize alternates between fiction and poetry, with this year’s prize for the best poem (up to 88 lines) by an Indigenous writer under 30.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Evelyn Araluen won the 2016 Overland Nakata Brophy Prize for Young Indigenous Writers for her short story ‘Muyum: a transgression’.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news