Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ABDA Book Design Awards 2018 shortlists announced

The Australian Book Designers Association (ABDA) has announced the shortlists for the 2018 Book Design Awards.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Best Designed Commercial Fiction Cover

  • Deadly Kerfuffle (Tony Martin, Affirm), designed by Josh Durham
  • The Girl in Kellers Way (Megan Goldin, Michael Joseph), designed by Adam Laszczuk
  • The Hot Guy (Mel Campbell & Anthony Morris, Echo), designed by Alissa Dinallo
  • The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club (Sophie Green, Hachette), designed by Christa Moffitt
  • The Student (Iain Ryan, Echo), designed by Alissa Dinallo

Best Designed Literary Fiction Cover

  • Disappearing off the Face of the Earth (David Cohen, Transit Lounge), designed by Josh Durham
  • Some Tests (Wayne Macauley, Text), designed by Josh Durham
  • The Gulf (Anna Spargo-Ryan, Picador), designed by Emily O’Neill
  • The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook (Michael Brooks, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed Autobiography/Biography/Memoir Nonfiction Cover

  • First, We Make the Beast Beautiful (Sarah Wilson, Macmillan), designed by Daniel New
  • The Museum of Words (Georgia Blain, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys
  • The Trauma Cleaner (Sarah Krasnostein, Text), designed by W H Chong
  • Things That Helped (Jessica Friedmann, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed General Nonfiction Book (including Scholarly and Reference)

  • A Perfidious Distortion of History (Jürgen Tampke, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys
  • Last Words (Barry Dickins, Hardie Grant), designed by Andy Warren
  • Saga Land (Richard Fidler and Kári Gíslason, ABC Books), designed by Evi O & Daniel New

Best Designed Series (including Classics)

  • ‘HarperCollins Australian Classics’ series (Fourth Estate), designed by Darren Holt
  • ‘A-Z Icon’ series (Steve Wide, illus by Libby VanderPloeg, Smith Street Books), designed by Michelle Mackintosh
  • ‘The Life Lessons’ series (Hardie Grant), designed by Arielle Gamble
  • ‘Zoë Foster Blake’ series (Zoë Foster Blake, Penguin), designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed Fully-illustrated Book under RRP $50

  • Flowersmith (Jennifer Tran, Hardie Grant), designed by Murray Batten
  • Open Spatial Workshop: Converging in Time (Bianca Hester et al, Monash University Museum of Art), designed by Paul Mylecharane & Žiga Testen
  • Patrick Pound (NGV), designed by Dirk Hiscock
  • Treatment: Six Public Artworks at the Western Treatment Plant (Surpllus), designed by Stuart Geddes

Best Designed Fully-illustrated Book over RRP $50

  • French House Chic (Jane Webster, Thames & Hudson), designed by Daniel New
  • Garden (William Dangar, Murdoch Books), designed by Evi Oetomo
  • NGV Triennial 2017 (NGV), designed by Dirk Hiscock
  • Pipilotti Rist (Museum of Contemporary Art Australia), designed by Alex Torcutti

Best Designed Cookbook

  • Flavours of Hong Kong (Leslie Yeh, Smudge Publishing), designed by Ilona Samcewicz-Parham & Matthew Tambellini
  • Igni (Aaron Turner, Hardie Grant), designed by Vaughan Mossop
  • Ramen-topia (Deborah Kaloper, Smith Street Books), designed by Michelle Mackintosh
  • Pidapipó (Lisa Valmorbida, illus by Jean Jullien, Hardie Grant), designed by Fabio Ongarato Design

Best Designed Educational Primary / Secondary Book

  • Basecamp (Kathryn Berry, Quirky Kid), designed by Lisa Diebold & Leonardo Rocker
  • Nelson Product Design & Technology VCE 4th edition (Jill Livett & Jacinta O’Leary, Cengage), designed by Jennai Lee Fai
  • Tapis Volant 1 Student Book 4th edition (Alan Chamberlain & Jane Zemiro, Cengage), designed by Studio Pounce (cover design) & Danielle Maccarone (creative & cover art direction)
  • The Cosmic Adventures of Alice and Bob (Cristy Burne & Aṡka, the ARC Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics), designed by Aṡka

Best Designed Educational Tertiary Book

  • An Introduction to Language 9th edition (Victoria Fromkin et al, Cengage), designed by Kevin Finn
  • Community and Human Services (ed by Karen Crinall & Lynda Berends, OUP), designed by Sue Dani
  • Powers of Curriculum (ed by Brad Gobby & Rebecca Walker, OUP), designed by Astred Hicks
  • Youth & Society (Rob White et al, OUP), designed by Sue Dani

Best Designed Children’s Illustrated Book

  • Aussie Legends Alphabet (Beck Feiner, ABC Books), designed by Hazel Lam
  • Florette (Anna Walker, Viking), designed by Bruno Herfst & Anna Walker
  • Under the Love Umbrella (Davina Bell, illus by Allison Colpoys, Scribble), designed by Allison Colpoys
  • What’s Up Top? (Marc Martin, Viking), designed by Bruno Herfst & Marc Martin

Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book

  • Dr Boogaloo and the Girl Who Lost Her Laughter (Lisa Nicol, Random House), designed by Bruno Herfst
  • Ickyfoodia (Matt Kelly & Richard Higgins, Puffin), designed by Bruno Herfst & Richard Higgins
  • Saving Marty (Paul Griffin, Text), designed by Wanissa Somsuphangsri
  • Tales from a Tall Forest (Shaun Micallef, Hardie Grant Egmont), designed by Pooja Desai

Best Designed Young Adult Book

  • Beautiful Mess (Claire Christian, Text), designed by Imogen Stubbs
  • In the Dark Spaces (Cally Black, Hardie Grant Egmont), designed by Astred Hicks, Design Cherry
  • My Life as a Hashtag (Gabrielle Williams, A&U), designed by Debra Billson
  • Remind Me How This Ends (Gabrielle Tozer, A&R), designed by Hazel Lam

Best Designed Children’s / YA Series

  • ‘Hello’ series (Megan McKean, Thames & Hudson), designed by Megan McKean
  • ‘Play Like a Girl’ series (Jo Stanley, Five Mile), designed by Alissa Dinallo
  • ‘This is a Ball’ series (Beck & Matt Stanton, ABC Books), designed by Beck & Matt Stanton

Best Designed Independent Book

  • 8 Poems (Maria Zahle, Akerman Daly), designed by Marion Guerineau
  • Broken (Broken Valley Arts), designed by Stuart Geddes
  • Subtext: Some Thoughts on the Book (Meg McLennan, self-published), designed by Meg McLennan
  • To Note: Notation Across Disciplines (ed by Hannah Mathews, Perimeter Editions), designed by Stuart Geddes & Žiga Testen

Emerging Designer of the Year

  • Grace West
  • Hazel Lam

In addition to these awards, ABDA will also present three ‘designers’ choice’ awards, which will be voted for by ABDA members at the award presentation. They are: Designers’ Choice Book of the Year, Designers’ Choice Cover of the Year and Designers’ Choice Children’s/YA Cover of the Year.

The winners of the awards will be announced at the awards party in Melbourne on 25 May.

This is the fourth year that the awards have been run by ABDA, which took over the responsibility of running the awards from the Australian Publishers Association. For more information, visit the ABDA website.


Category: Awards Local news