Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Water Scott Prize 2018 shortlist announced

In the UK, the Water Scott Prize 2018 shortlist has been announced.

The titles shortlisted for the £25,000 (A$46,000) prize for historical fiction are:

  • Manhattan Beach (Jennifer Egan, Corsair)
  • Sugar Money (Jane Harris, Faber)
  • Grace (Paul Lynch, Oneworld)
  • The Wardrobe Mistress (Patrick McGrath, Windmill Books)
  • Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves (Rachel Malik, Fig Tree)
  • The Gallows Pole (Benjamin Myers, Bluemoose Books)

The winner will be announced at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival in the UK, which runs from 14 to 17 June. The prize’s total prize pool is £30,000 (A$55,200), with each of the shortlisted authors receiving £1000 (A$1775) in addition to the winner’s cash prize of £25,000 (A$46,000).

In March, the prize also released an additional list of books recommended by the Walter Scott Prize Academy, which included three books by Australian authors: Storyland by Catherine McKinnon (Fourth Estate), See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt (Hachette), and City of Crows by Chris Womersley (Picador). The Academy was established in December 2016 ‘to broaden the global reach and strengthen the resources of the prize’, and this year includes Tablo creative director Jemma Birrell and Melbourne Festival artistic director Jonathan Holloway.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Sebastian Barry won the 2017 Walter Scott Prize.

For more information on the prize, see the website.



Category: International news