Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Kibble and Dobbie Awards 2018 longlists announced

The longlists for the 2018 Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards have been announced.

The eight longlisted titles for the $30,000 Nita B Kibble Literary Award for an established author are:

  • Mirror Sydney (Vanessa Berry, Giramondo)
  • The Enigmatic Mr Deakin (Judith Brett, Text)
  • The Hate Race (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)
  • Everywhere I Look (Helen Garner, Text)
  • The Life to Come (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  • The Choke (Sofie Laguna, A&U)
  • The High Places (Fiona McFarlane, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Media and the Massacre (Sonya Voumard, Transit Lounge)

The eight longlisted titles for the $5000 Dobbie Literary Award for a first-time published author are:

  • Australia Day (Melanie Cheng, Text)
  • Troppo (Madelaine Dickie, Fremantle Press)
  • Our Magic Hour (Jennifer Down, Text)
  • Things That Helped (Jessica Friedmann, Scribe)
  • The Permanent Resident (Roanna Gonsalves, UWA Publishing)
  • Driftwood: Escape and Survival Through Art (Eva De Jong-Duldig, Australian Scholarly Publishing)
  • The Trauma Cleaner: One Woman’s Extraordinary Life in Death, Decay & Disaster (Sarah Krasnostein, Text)
  • The Healing Party (Micheline Lee, Black Inc.)

The Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards are open to Australian female writers who have published a book of fiction or nonfiction classifiable as ‘life writing’. The awards moved to a biennial format in 2016, making the 2018 awards open to any work published in the last two years.

Emeritus professor Elizabeth Webby, State Library of New South Wales coordinator Rachel Franks and author Eleanor Limprecht comprise the judging panel for this year’s awards.

The shortlists will be announced in June.

The Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards were established by Nita Dobbie to honour her aunt Nita Kibble, the first female librarian at the State Library of New South Wales. The most recent winners were Fiona Wright’s Small Acts of Disappearance (Giramondo), which won the 2016 Kibble Award, and Lucy Treloar’s Salt Creek (Picador), which was awarded the 2016 Dobbie.

For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Local news