Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Norma K Hemming Award 2018 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2018 Norma K Hemming Award have been announced.

The award is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for a work of speculative fiction published in 2016-17 in Australia or written by an Australian citizen that explores the themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability.

For the first time, this year’s Norma K Hemming Award comprises two categories: long works and short fiction.

The books shortlisted for the long work category are:

  • The Barrier (Shankari Chandran, Pan Macmillan)
  • Terra Nullius (Claire G Coleman, Hachette)
  • Crossroads of Canopy (Thoraiya Dyer, Tor)
  • Defying Doomsday (ed by Tsana Dolichva & Holly Kench, Twelfth Planet Press)
  • An Uncertain Grace (Krissy Kneen, Text)
  • Portable Curiosities (Julie Koh, UQP)
  • How to Bee (Bren MacDibble, A&U)
  • An Accident of Stars (Foz Meadows, Angry Robot)
  • The Grief Hole (Kaaron Warren, IFWG Publishing).

The finalists for the short fiction category (for stories of up to 17,500 words) are:

  • ‘Induction’ (Thoraiya Dyer, Bridging Infinity, Solaris)
  • ‘The Rock in the Water’ (Thoraiya Dyer, People of Colo(u)r Destroy Fantasy!, Fantasy Magazine)
  • ‘Braid’ (Kirstyn McDermott, Review of Australian Fiction Volume 24, Issue 1)
  • ‘Coral Bones’ (Foz Meadows, Monstrous Little Voices, Abaddon Books)
  • ‘Tea Party’ (Lauren E Mitchell, Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press)
  • ‘Memories of Fish’ (Shauna O’Meara, Interzone 270, TTA Press)
  • ‘Two Somebodies Go Hunting’ (Rivqa Rafael, Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press)
  • ‘Did We Break the End of the World’ (Tansy Rayner Roberts, Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press).

The winners will be announced at the Continuum conference in Melbourne on 8 June 2018, with citations and a monetary prize to be presented on the night.

For more information, visit the website here.


Category: Local news