Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist announced for inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize

The shortlist for the inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize for an unpublished novel has been announced.

The shortlisted works, and their authors, are:

  • ‘When Curlews Call’ (H E Crampton)
  • ‘Caught Between’ (Jeannie McLean)
  • ‘Slaughter Weight’ (Ruby Porter).

The new prize offers the winning author a $10,000 advance and publishing contract with Melbourne’s Text Publishing. Open to both previously published and new writers who are New Zealand citizens or permanent residents, the prize honours the late Michael Gifkins—literary agent, writer, critic and publishing consultant. It is funded through a sponsorship from Gifkins’ family and Text Publishing.

The shortlist was chosen from more than 200 entries, with Text Publishing stating that ‘the selection revealed an extraordinary diversity of writing and an enviable depth of talent. It was a difficult process to arrive at our shortlist of three novels’.

Novelists Lloyd Jones and Patricia Grace will judge the shortlist alongside a representative from Text. The winner will be announced on 19 May as part of the Auckland Writers and Readers festival.

For more information about the shortlistees, click here.


Category: Local news