Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Mary Gilmore Award 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2018 Mary Gilmore Award, presented by the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) for best first book of poetry published in the past two calendar years, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The Agonist (Shastra Deo, UQP)
  • Rallying (Quinn Eades, UWA Publishing)
  • Flute of Milk (Susan Fealy, UWA Publishing)
  • Snake Like Charms (Amanda Joy, UWA Publishing)
  • Captive and Temporal (Nguyen Tien Hoang, Vagabond Press)

The winner will be announced at the ASAL 2018 Literary Studies Convention in Melbourne on July 6. The award is judged by Toby Davidson, Marcelle Freiman and Mark Reid.

More information about the Mary Gilmore Award can be found on the ASAL website here.


Category: Local news