Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘The Dry’ wins crime book of the year at British Book Awards

Jane Harper’s The Dry (Pan) has won the crime and thriller book of the year award at the British Book Awards.

Harper said, ‘I’m absolutely thrilled that The Dry has been recognised in this way by the British Book Awards. It’s wonderful that the publishing industry in the UK has responded so enthusiastically to an Australian story and I’m delighted that my novel has reached so many readers overseas.’ She added, ‘I’m grateful to the inspired work of so many people in the publishing industry who have championed The Dry with such passion.’

The Dry was chosen from a shortlist of six that also included titles by J P Delaney, Lee Child, Sarah Pinborough, Mick Herron and Erin Kelly.

Known as the ‘Nibbies’, the British Book Awards celebrate ‘the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops’, and are organised by the Bookseller. The awards include trade accolades (such as publisher of the year and book retailer of the year), and also awards individual book of the year prizes across seven categories: fiction, debut fiction, children’s, crime and thriller, nonfiction: lifestyle, nonfiction: narrative, and (for the first time in 2018) audiobook.

Winners were announced at a ceremony in London on 14 May.

To see the full list of book winners, visit the awards website.



Category: Local news