Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Woollahra Digital Literary Awards 2018 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2018 Woollahra Digital Literary Awards, for writing first published online or electronically, have been announced.



Flash and short fiction

A $3000 prize will be awarded to the winning entries in both the fiction and nonfiction categories, and the flash/short fiction winner will receive $1000. The fiction prize is awarded to best novel, novella or short story collection ‘of a literary nature’; and the nonfiction prize to the best monograph, essay collection or long essay. Entries in both categories could range from 3000 to 100,000 words, and must have been published online or electronically in the first instance.

Entries are judged on literary merit but ‘bravery in publishing in emerging media is [also] acknowledged as part of what makes these works special’.

Woollahra Libraries in Sydney’s Eastern Suburbs announced the new national literary award in April last year, and Vanessa Berry and Melissa Bruce won the inaugural awards.

The winners in each category will be announced at an awards presentation at Woollahra Library in Double Bay on 31 May. For more information, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news