Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Book Design Awards 2018 winners announced

The Australian Book Designers Association (ABDA) announced the winners of the 2018 Australian Book Design Awards at an event in Melbourne on 25 May.

The winning titles in each category are:

Best Designed Commercial Fiction Book (joint winners)

  • The Student (Iain Ryan, Echo), designed by Alissa Dinallo
  • The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club (Sophie Green, Hachette), designed by Christa Moffitt

Best Designed Literary Fiction Cover

  • The Gulf (Anna Spargo-Ryan, Picador), designed by Emily O’Neill

Best Designed Autobiography/Biography/Memoir Nonfiction Cover

  • The Museum of Words (Georgia Blain, Scribe), designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed General Nonfiction Book (including Scholarly and Reference)

  • Last Words (Barry Dickins, Hardie Grant), designed by Andy Warren

Best Designed Series (including Classics)

  • ‘HarperCollins Australian Classics’ series (Fourth Estate), designed by Darren Holt

Best Designed Fully-illustrated Book under RRP $50

  • Patrick Pound (NGV), designed by Dirk Hiscock

Best Designed Fully-illustrated Book over RRP $50

  • NGV Triennial 2017 (NGV), designed by Dirk Hiscock

Best Designed Cookbook

  • Pidapipó: Gelato Eight Days a Week (Lisa Valmorbida, illus by Jean Jullien, Hardie Grant), designed by Fabio Ongarato Design

Best Designed Educational Primary / Secondary Book

  • Basecamp (Kathryn Berry, Quirky Kid), designed by Lisa Diebold & Leonardo Rocker

Best Designed Educational Tertiary Book

  • An Introduction to Language, 9th edition (Victoria Fromkin et al, Cengage), designed by Kevin Finn

Best Designed Children’s Illustrated Book

  • Under the Love Umbrella (Davina Bell, illus by Allison Colpoys, Scribble), designed by Allison Colpoys

Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book

  • Tales from a Tall Forest (Shaun Micallef, Hardie Grant Egmont), designed by Pooja Desai

Best Designed Young Adult Cover

  • In the Dark Spaces (Cally Black, Hardie Grant Egmont), designed by Astred Hicks

Best Designed Children’s / YA Series

  • ‘Books That Drive Kids Crazy’ series (Beck & Matt Stanton, ABC Books), designed by Beck & Matt Stanton

Best Designed Independent Book (joint winners)

  • 8 Poems (Maria Zahle, Akerman Daly), designed by Marion Guerineau
  • Broken (Broken Valley Arts), designed by Stuart Geddes

Emerging Designer of the Year

  • Hazel Lam for Breaking Ranks (HarperCollins), Remind Me How This Ends (HarperCollins), Tour De Oz (HarperSports) and Mrs M (Fourth Estate).

The judging panel comprised Coralie Bickford-Smith, Alex Ross, Kasia Gadecki, Andrea Mcnamara, Warren Taylor, Suzy Tuxen and Andy Warren.

ABDA also presented three ‘designers’ choice’ awards, which were chosen by ABDA members at the awards presentation. The winners are:

Designers’ Choice Book of the Year

  • NGV Triennial 2017 (NGV), designed by Dirk Hiscock

Designers’ Choice Cover of the Year

  • The Trauma Cleaner (Sarah Krasnostein, Text), designed by W H Chong

Designers’ Choice Children’s/YA Cover of the Year

  • Under the Love Umbrella (Davina Bell, illus by Allison Colpoys, Scribble), designed by Allison Colpoys

Also celebrated on the awards night was book designer Alison Forbes, who was officially inducted into the Australian Book Design Hall of Fame.

To see the shortlists, click here. To view cover images of the winning tiles, click here.

For more information about the awards, see the ABDA website.



Category: Awards Local news