Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

First authors announced for 2018 Byron Writers Festival

The first authors have been announced for the 2018 Byron Writers Festival, which runs from 3-5 August.

International guests include British author and broadcaster Lemn Sissay, Saudi Arabian women’s rights activist Manal al-Sharif,  Norwegian journalists Eskil Engdahl and Kjetil Saeter, New Zealand ‘woman in the wilderness’ Miriam Lancewood and North Korean writer Hyeonseo Lee.

Local authors include Greenpeace Australia Pacific CEO David Ritter, politician Tanya Plibersek, musician Tim Rogers, and authors Michelle de Kretser, Jessie Cole, Robert Drewe, Jane Harper, Tom Keneally, Oliver Phommavanh and Sarah Wilson.

Festival director Edwina Johnson said this year’s program will introduce audiences to ‘diverse, talented writers and influential thinkers, and know they will spark fascinating and inspiring conversations’.

The initial author line-up was announced on 29 May, with early bird tickets selling out on the same day. The full program will be announced on 13 June.

For more information, click here.



Category: Festivals Local news