Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Longlist for 2018 ‘KYD’ Unpublished Manuscript Award announced

The longlist for the 2018 Kill Your Darlings Unpublished Manuscript Award has been announced.

The longlisted works, and their authors, are:

  • ‘Blindside’ (Beth Amos)
  • ‘The Eulogy’ (Jacqueline Bailey)
  • ‘Behind the Lines’ (Michael Burrows)
  • ‘The Wrecked Republic’ (Mikaella Clements)
  • ‘What in Me is Dark’ (Allan Drew)
  • ‘Every Shiny Thing’ (Keren Heenan)
  • ‘Little Did I Know’ (Nicole McAlinden)
  • ‘An Onslaught of Light’ (Natasha Rai)
  • ‘The Wife of a Soldier’ (Brian Raynor)
  • ‘Pretty Roadkill’ (Miranda Siemienowicz)
  • ‘Vine’ (Jasmin Taylor)
  • ‘Sedition’ (Marisa Wikramanayake).

The award attracted 166 entries from across Australia. The shortlist will be announced on 22 June and the overall winner on 6 July.

The winning writer will receive $5000 and a mentorship with publishing directors Rebecca Starford (nonfiction) or Hannah Kent (fiction).

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Onyx B Carmine (S J Norman) was the winner of the inaugural award in 2017 for their short story collection ‘Permafrost’.

For more information about the award, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news