Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Nevermoor’ wins ABA Booksellers Choice Award; booksellers of the year announced

Jessica Townsend’s Nevermoor (Lothian) has won the Australian Booksellers Association (ABA) Booksellers Choice Award at the 2018 ABA conference awards night, held in Canberra on 17 June.

Townsend’s novel was chosen from a shortlist of six. The Booksellers Choice Award recognises the Australian new-release title that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the past year, and is the third industry award Nevermoor has won this year, after being named Book of the Year at the 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards and Book of the Year at the 2018 Indie Book Awards.

Also announced on the evening were the recipients of the Bookseller and Young Bookseller of the Year awards. Tim Jarvis from Fullers Bookshop in Hobart was named Young Bookseller of the Year, and Chris Redfern from Avenue Bookstore in Melbourne was named Bookseller of the Year. Sarah Rakich from Beaufort Street Books in Perth was awarded the Elizabeth Riley Fellowship for Children’s Bookselling, which she will use to attend the American Booksellers Association’s ABC Children’s Institute conference in 2019.

ABA life memberships were awarded to recently retired Chris Harrington, formerly of the Melbourne independent bookstore Books in Print, and to Suzy Wilson, owner of Riverbend Books in Bulimba and founder of the Indigenous Literacy Foundation.

For the full list of finalists for both Young Bookseller and Bookseller of the Year, click here.



Category: Junior Local news