Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ned Kelly Awards 2018 longlists announced

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the longlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

The longlisted titles in each category are:

Best crime

  • Marlborough Man (Alan Carter, Fremantle Press)
  • Under the Cold Bright Lights (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Redemption Point (Candice Fox, Bantam)
  • The Lone Child (Anna George, Viking)
  • Crossing the Lines (Sulari Gentill, Pantera)
  • Class Act (Ged Gillmore, deGrevilo Publishing)
  • Pachyderm (Hugh McGinlay, ThreeKookaburras)
  • Big Red Rock (David Owen, Fullers Publishing)
  • The Secrets She Keeps (Michael Robotham, Hachette)
  • The Student (Iain Ryan, Echo)
  • Clear to the Horizon (Dave Warner, Fremantle Press)

Best first crime

  • The Dark Lake (Sarah Bailey, A&U)
  • Wimmera (Mark Brandi, Hachette)
  • The Girl in Keller’s Way (Megan Goldin, Michael Joseph)
  • All Our Secrets (Jennifer Lane, Rose Mira Books)
  • The Echo of Others (S D Rowell, Skuda Enterprises)
  • See What I Have Done (Sarah Schmidt, Hachette)
  • She be Damned (M J Tija, Pantera)

Best true crime

  • The Contractor (Mark Abernethy, Pan Macmillan)
  • Unmaking A Murder: The Mysterious Death of Anna Jane Cheney (Graham Archer, Ebury)
  • The Suitcase Baby (Tanya Bretherton, Hachette)
  • Whitely on Trial (Gabriella Coslovich, MUP)
  • Last King of the Cross (John Ibrahim, Pan Macmillan)
  • The Last Escape (John Killick, New Holland)
  • The Fatalist (Campbell McConachie, Hachette)
  • Once a Copper: The Life and Times of Brian ‘The Skull’ Murphy (Vikki Petraitis, Wild Dingo Press)

Out of 26 titles on the longlist, two are self-published: Class Act by Ged Gillmore and The Echo of Others by S D Rowell.

The shortlists for each category will be announced in late July, with winners to be announced on Sunday, 26 August at the Melbourne Writers Festival.

For more information about the longlist, visit the ACWA website here.


Category: Awards Local news