Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Historical Association 2018 awards announced

The Australian Historical Association (AHA) has announced the winners of the 2018 W K Hancock Prize and the Kay Daniels Award.

The $2000 W K Hancock prize, which recognises an Australian scholar who has published a first book in any field of history in 2014 or 2015, was awarded to Miranda Johnson for The Land Is Our History: Indigeneity, Law, and the Settler State (Oxford University Press).

The $1500 Kay Daniels Award, which recognises ‘outstanding original research that focuses on Australian convict history and heritage’, was awarded to Joan Kavanagh and Dianne Snowden for Van Diemen’s Women: A History of Transportation to Tasmania (The History Press Ltd).

They join Alexis Wright, who was announced earlier this month as winner of the Magarey Medal for Biography for Tracker (Giramondo).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in June.

For more information about the prize, visit the AHA website.



Category: Awards Local news