Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Award 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlists for the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Award for New Zealand crime fiction have been announced.

The shortlisted works in each category are:

Best crime novel

  • Marlborough Man (Alan Carter, Fremantle Press)
  • See You in September (Charity Norman, A&U)
  • Tess (Kirsten McDougall, Victoria University Press)
  • The Sound of Her Voice (Nathan Blackell, Mary Egan Publishing)
  • A Killer Harvest (Paul Cleave, Upstart Press)
  • The Hidden Room (Stella Duffy, Virago)

Best first novel

  • The Floating Basin (Carolyn Hawes, self-published)
  • Broken Silence (Helen Vivienne Fletcher, HVF Publishing)
  • All Our Secrets (Jennifer Lane, Rose Mira Books)
  • The Sound of Her Voice (Nathan Blackwell, Mary Egan Publishing)
  • Nothing Bad Happens Here (Nikki Crutchley, Oak House Press)

Three self-published titles were shortlisted in the Best First Novel category: The Floating Basin, Broken Silence and Nothing Bad Happens Here. Last year, the category was won by Finn Bells self-published novel Dead Lemons, making Bell the first self-published author to win a Ngaio Marsh award.

The winners will be announced at the WORD Christchurch Festival on 1 September 2018.

For more information, click here.



Category: Awards Local news