Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:  

WORD Christchurch 2018 program announced

The program for the 2018 WORD Christchurch Writers & Readers Festival, which runs from 29 August to 2 September, has been announced.

Among the international guests attending this year’s festival are Scottish authors Irvine Welsh, Denise Mina and Shaun Bythell; American writers A J Finn and Ted Chiang; British writers Juno Dawson, Philip Hoare and Hollie McNish; and American activist and poet Sonya Renee Taylor.

Also appearing at the festival are Australian rapper-poet and novelist Omar Musa, children’s authors Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton, and cultural commentator Robyn Davidson. New Zealand-based writers on this year’s program include Selina Tusitala Marsh, Catherine Chidgey, Hera Lindsay Bird, Chris Tse, Tom Scott, Paula Morris, Michele A’Court, Anne Salmond, Charlotte Grimshaw, Tina Makereti, Paula Morris, Lloyd Jones, Pip Adam, Annaleese Jochems and Brannavan Gnanalingam.

The festival program includes 120 writers and speakers, with a focus on the theme of adventure.

The 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards will also be presented by festival guests Denise Mina and A J Finn on 1 September.

The biennial festival will be held in Christchurch’s performing arts precinct. For more information, click here.



Category: Festivals Local news