Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Territory Read Book of the Year 2018 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Territory Read Awards have been announced.

The winners in the Territory Read Awards are:

Chief Minister’s Book of the Year ($5000)

  • Broken (Mary Anne Butler, Currency Press)

Nonfiction ($2000)

  • Living in Hope (Frank Byrne, with Frances Coughlan & Gerard Waterford, Ptilotus Press)

Children’s literature/YA fiction ($2000)

  • Go Home, Cheeky Animals (Johanna Bell & Dion Beasley, A&U).

Presented biennially, the Territory Read Awards recognise excellence by writers living in the Northern Territory. This year’s awards were open to books published in 2016 or 2017, and were made possible with a grant from the Copyright Cultural Fund, funding from the Chief Minister, and fundraising by the Northern Territory Writers’ Centre.

The winners were announced at a ceremony in Darwin on 29 July. To view the shortlist for this year’s awards, click here.

For more information on the awards, visit the Northern Territory Writers’ Centre website.



Category: Awards Local news