Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hugo Awards 2018 winners announced

For the third year running, N K Jemisin has won the best novel category at the Hugo Awards for science-fiction and fantasy titles.

Jemisin picked up the award for her novel The Stone Sky (Orbit), which is the third novel in the ‘Broken Earth’ series.

Other winners included All Systems Red by Martha Wells ( for best novella; ‘The Secret Life of Bots’ by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, September 2017) for best novelette; and ‘Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™’ by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex, August 2017) for best short story.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, several Australian writers and artists were among the finalists for this year’s awards.

The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (WSFS). The presentation ceremony was held at the 76th World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose, California.

See the full list of winners here.


Category: International news