Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Lucas wins 2018 ‘ABR’ Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

US-based Australian author Madelaine Lucas has won the Australian Book Review’s (ABR) 2018 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story ‘Ruins’.

Lucas was announced as the winner of the $7000 prize at an event in Melbourne on 20 August.

Sharmini Aphrodite placed second and received $2000 for her story ‘Between the Mountain and the Sea’, and Claire Aman placed third and received $1000 for her story ‘Vasco’. The three shortlisted stories were published in the August edition of ABR.

The prize, now in its eighth year, has been open to international entries since 2014. This year’s judging panel comprised Patrick Allington, Michelle Cahill and Beejay Silcox.

Read the winning story here, and find more information about the prize here.



Category: Awards Local news


Transit Lounge Almost a Mirror