Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

RWA awards 2018 winners announced

The winners of the 2018 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the ‘RUBYs’, were announced on 18 August at the RWA conference in Sydney.

The winners included:

Romantic book of the year

  • Nineteen Letters (Jodi Perry, Hachette)

Long romance

  • Ruining Miss Wrotham (Emily Larkin, self-published)

Short romance

  • Conveniently Wed to the Greek (Kandy Shepherd, Forever Romance)


  • Silk and Scholar (Cassandra Dean, Decadent Publishing)

Romantic elements

  • The Girl and the Ghost (Ebony McKenna, self-published).

The Valerie Parv Award for an unpublished romance novel went to Stella Quinn; the Emerald Award for best unpublished manuscript went to Rachel Armstrong; the Emerald Pro for a published author writing in a new genre went to Fiona Marsden; and the Lynn Wilding Meritorious award for service to RWA went to Lis Hoorweg.

The Roma Award for Media (ROMA), which recognises professional, positive media coverage of the romance industry, was presented to Libby Jane Charleston for her podcast episode ‘Romance is Not Dead’ (HuffPost Humans).

For more information about the awards, see the RWA website.



Category: Awards Local news