Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Jacobson wins 2018 Thomas Shapcott Prize

Poet Anna Jacobson has won the 2018 Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for her manuscript ‘I know I may not escape unscathed’.

Jacobson receives $2000 and a publishing contract with University of Queensland Press (UQP), which will publish the book in 2019. UQP publisher Aviva Tuffield described Jacobson as ‘an immensely talented poet and a thoroughly deserving winner’.

The prize was established in 2003 in honour of Queensland poet Thomas Shapcott, and is awarded annually for the best unpublished manuscript.

The award was presented on 23 August at the Queensland Poetry Festival. Several other awards were also presented, including the $2000 Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize, which went to Brenda Saunders; the $1000 Val Vallis Award for an unpublished poem, which went to Zenobia Frost; the $1000 XYZ Prize for innovation in spoken word, which went to Anisa Nandaula; and the $500 Philip Bacon ‘Ekphrasis’ Award, which went to Philip Neilsen.

For more information about the awards, visit the Queensland Poetry Festival website.



Category: Awards Local news