Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Odgers wins Alice Literary Award

The Society of Women Writers has awarded the 2018 Alice Literary Award to author Sally Odgers.

The Alice Literary Award is presented in the form of a trophy to ‘an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian literature’. The winner is chosen after consultation with all state branches of the society.

Odgers said in a blog post, ‘My journey to the Alice must have started when I started writing, because I do indeed have a sustained output. I’ve been writing for fun for 54 years, and for publication for 49.’

Author Clare Wright was the 2016 recipient of the award, and author and poet Libby Hathorn received the award in 2014. Read more about the award here.



Category: Local news