Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Centre Literary Awards 2018 winners announced

The winners of the University of Melbourne’s Australian Centre Literary Awards have been announced.

Wesley Michel Wright Prize ($4000)

  • On the Outskirts (John Kinsella, UQP)

Commended: Towards Light & Other Poems (Sarah Day, Puncher & Wattmann), I Love Poetry (Michael Farrell, Giramondo) and Rooftops in Karachi (Misbah Khokhar, Vagabond).

The prize is presented to an author or composer of original verse or poetry.

DJ (Dinny) O’Hearn Fellowship ($5000)

  • ‘A Rock is a Hard Place’ (Eda Gunaydin)

Commended: ‘Panacea: Or: The Very Real, Definitely Not Falsified History of Lasseter’s Reef’ (Kim Ho).

The biennial fellowship offers a residency at the Australian Centre to a young Australian writer of fiction, poetry or drama. It was set up to honour the memory of the late Dinny O’Hearn, one of the founders of the Australian Centre.

Peter Blazey Fellowship ($15,000)

  • ‘Journey of Hope’ (Sanaz Fotouhi)

Commended: ‘Love and Water’ (Bill Ethell).

The Peter Blazey Fellowship is awarded to further a work-in-progress in biography, autobiography or life-writing, and is named in memory of journalist, author and gay activist Peter Blazey.

Australian Centre director Ken Gelder and University of Melbourne faculty of arts dean Denise Varney announced the winners of the awards and fellowships at ACMI during the Melbourne Writers Festival.

For more information about the prizes, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news