Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Waverley Library Award 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2018 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as ‘the Nib’, have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Relatively Famous (Roger Averill, Transit Lounge)
  • The Trauma Cleaner (Sarah Krasnostein, Text)
  • The Dead Still Cry Out (Helen Lewis, Text)
  • Eggshell Skull (Bri Lee, A&U)
  • Call of the Reed Warbler (Charles Massy, UQP)
  • The Suitcase Baby (Tanya Bretherton, Hachette).

The winner, to be announced on 22 November, will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and each of the shortlisted authors will receive the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000.

The winner of the People’s Choice Award will receive a further $1000. Voting for the People’s Choice Award is now open on the Waverley Council website.

The Waverley Library Award was established in 2002 to recognise the role of research in fiction and nonfiction.

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website here.



Category: Awards Local news